It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:13 am

All times are UTC+08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do nids pick powers?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 1:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 5848
Lets say i have 3 zoanthropes. if i want to give them rule book powers like biomancy, do i just swap a power out at a time? also say a tervigon do i need to buy his powers from the codex and then swap them out for a rulebook power? ie i buy FNP, do i just get 1 roll on the bio chart? to get 2 powers do i need to buy 2 powers to then drop them for something else?

_________________
Accept certain inalienable truths Necrons will rise, invul saves will fail, you too will deep strike off of the table. Later you'll fantasize that when you were young Necrons didn't come back, Tyranids were gods and the scatter die always read Hit


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 1:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 1350
No sure on how getting Codex powers works, but I will say that you cannot pick BRB powers, and must roll for ALL of them. Ie, you cannot pick a codex power AND roll for a BRB power. They must both come from the same source.

_________________
My Sons of Medusa Blog


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 5848
so if i use biomancy on zoanthropes do i lose the warp blast? This whole magical powers thing is alien to me as i have only used those techno robots necrons and we dont believe in card tricks :mrgreen:

_________________
Accept certain inalienable truths Necrons will rise, invul saves will fail, you too will deep strike off of the table. Later you'll fantasize that when you were young Necrons didn't come back, Tyranids were gods and the scatter die always read Hit


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 1350
You would loose warp blast...on that zoan.

BUT, I believe (and correct my if i'm wrong here) that zoans can be taken in a squad, and not all of the squad would swap powers out, as individual model trade powers. Potentially you could take a squad of 3, with 2 using warp blast, and 1 using biomancy powers to provide a buff to the unit. I'm not entirely sure, but it sounds legit.

And yeah, no card tricks for necrons. This is more appropriate.

Image

_________________
My Sons of Medusa Blog


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:28 pm
Posts: 4183
Location: Bayswater, Perf
Whats the exact wording in the FAQ? Because the other FAQs are very clear with the power selections.

_________________
Son of Russ


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:45 pm
Posts: 896
Location: Perth
The wording should be the same, I can check later.

You cannot mix codex powers with rulebook powers. You choose before deployment if you want to keep your codex powers or swap them for rulebook powers.

You can mix and match psychic disciplines, for example take one power from Biomancy and one from Telekinesis (I don't see a good reason to do so though).

Yes, you need to buy the extra psychic powers for the Tervigon if you want to swap them out. Remember that a Tervi comes with Dominion for free, so Tervigons get between 1 and 3 psychic powers.

Zoans get 2 powers each, Swarmlord gets 4, etc...

I'm not sure if Belly is right regarding Zoans i.e. if you can choose to only have a few swap for powers and the others keeping rulebook ones. I'll check the wording at home, if it says Model than ok, if it says Unit probably no. However they have clarified in the Faq that Zoans in the same unit can use different powers in the same turn.

_________________

BFG Tyranid Hive Fleet

Dystopian Wars June 2013 Campaign TFR


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:45 pm
Posts: 896
Location: Perth
Ok there is no mention of rolls having to be done by unit, just by "Psyker", p418. So yes, Belly is correct. Some Zoans can keep the lance and blast while others swap for rulebook powers.

_________________

BFG Tyranid Hive Fleet

Dystopian Wars June 2013 Campaign TFR


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2013 11:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Tervigon cans with dominate already, if u buy any extra powers u get an extra roll but is always mastery lvl 1

And for the thropes they are all single pysker as they dont have 'brotherhood of pysker/sorcerers' and each have to roll to activate their powers, yes 1 could heap dex powers, and other 2 roll on rulebook ones (but remeber u use majority toughness, so if one gets iron arm only he is at higher strength, so opponents will roll for lowest toughness if more then 2 thropes in a squad)

Also note thropes are mastery lvl 1 and only have one power each as warp field is a special rule

Hope that helps

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:45 pm
Posts: 896
Location: Perth
Quote:
Also note thropes are mastery lvl 1 and only have one power each as warp field is a special ruleHope that helps
Incorrect: Zoanthropes have 2 powers each: Warp Blast and Warp Lance. Which makes them pretty good psychic batteries if you want to swap the powers out.

_________________

BFG Tyranid Hive Fleet

Dystopian Wars June 2013 Campaign TFR


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 5848
great pick up innocent! i was going with 1 power.

_________________
Accept certain inalienable truths Necrons will rise, invul saves will fail, you too will deep strike off of the table. Later you'll fantasize that when you were young Necrons didn't come back, Tyranids were gods and the scatter die always read Hit


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Mehh still mastery lvl 1

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:41 pm
Posts: 455
Location: Secret Harbour
P3 of FAQs = Zoanthropes, Hive Tyrant, Broodlord, Tervigon and Doom of Malantai are Level 1 Psykers. Swarm lord Level 2.

_________________
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

KRAGS Gaming Club
Fridays 7.30 - 11.00 pm


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:45 pm
Posts: 896
Location: Perth
Just to clarify: Mastery Level and the number of powers you have are 2 different things. But yes, Barry is correct, everyone is ML1 except the Swarmlord which is ML2.

_________________

BFG Tyranid Hive Fleet

Dystopian Wars June 2013 Campaign TFR


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
No way !!! Didnt relise that =/ (he says sarcasticly)

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC+08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited