It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:03 am

All times are UTC+08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:41 pm
Posts: 1292
Location: Underneath Parliament House with a lot of explosives
Hi all,

Okay, so the Warpflame rule scares people a lot. I'm looking for clarification from someone who has knowledge of the mechanics of this rule.

So most of the time the execution is actually pretty clear, at the end of the phase, the unit that has suffered one or more unsaved Wounds must make a toughness test and if fails, it takes another 1D3 Wounds with no armour or cover saves allowed. If they pass, they get Feel No Pain (6+), which is why you think twice about using these attacks on T4+ units as the odds are you will give them FNP unless you can annihilate the unit in one phase. If the unit already has FNP, they get a +1 to their number.

This is all fine and dandy if you make one attack on the unit per phase. Now consider a unit of 6 Flamers. So they all make their attacks on a unit of 6 Marines. Let's say that all six Marines are under the templates of their attacks. If 36 attacks hit, the odds are 18 wounds and then 6 failed saves- great. But add a seventh Marine in there and the odds say he survives and has a 66% chance of passing his first Toughness test and gaining FNP (6+)

Now, for each wound that he suffers, does he make a Toughness test or just single one for all their combined attacks? And if he has passed and gained FNP, does the total start to stack after all the tests have been made or after the phase is over? It sounds to me like you could end up with a bunch of FNP (2+) Marines/Orks/Battlesuit Tau running around.

_________________
https://stirfire.net/

And now http://store.steampowered.com/app/540010

Current Status: Being a fierce game dev warrior.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:53 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
The number of wounds is not relevant nor is the number of times he unit is hit.

The rule says that a unit that suffered one or more unsaved wounds, and likewise specifies it happens at the end of the phase

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:41 pm
Posts: 1292
Location: Underneath Parliament House with a lot of explosives
So, regardless of how many attacks, only ever the one test at end of phase?

That's not quite how it's written. They haven't updated the FAQs since April either. Do you have a good source, Mike?

_________________
https://stirfire.net/

And now http://store.steampowered.com/app/540010

Current Status: Being a fierce game dev warrior.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:52 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
That's exactly how it's written in my codex? At the end of each phase a unit which has suffered one or more unsaved wounds...

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 3:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:41 pm
Posts: 1292
Location: Underneath Parliament House with a lot of explosives
*Nips back to reread*

Would it matter if different attacks that inflict Warpflame affected the unit?

_________________
https://stirfire.net/

And now http://store.steampowered.com/app/540010

Current Status: Being a fierce game dev warrior.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:48 am
Posts: 1786
Not if the Warpflame special rule is what spells out the details of what happens - ie if three units with Warpflame attack the same target and all three inflict one wound, you'd still only test for the additional effect once.

If the rule said something along the lines of "a unit that..." or "each time that..." I would expect a different outcome/interpretation.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:44 pm
Posts: 290
Location: East Victoria Park
Just to confirm, does warpflame stack over multiple turns?
Ie, Turn 2 you warpflame me, I survive, gain +1FNP.
Turn 3, warpflame, survive, do I go to 5+ FNP?

I played it that way the other day against someone who was fairly new to the Daemons codex. He made the mistake of trying to warpflame my Riptide. twice.

Needless to say, running around with T6 5W 2+/3++ and 3+ FNP for the remaining 4 turns was fun.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:36 pm
Posts: 2400
It does stack over multiple turns, yes.

_________________
2013, Warhammer 40,000 Ultimate Champion
2012-13 Wargammer 40,000 General's & Standard League Champion
"I'm saying... I'm an insect who dreamt he was a man. But now the dream is over, and the insect is awake."


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited