It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:04 pm

All times are UTC+08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 126 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 7th Ed WH40K rules ???
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
So after reading the rules a few times I've noticed a few things that I though I'd bring to light before any events happen and see what people think, with some I'm sure I already know people's answers.

Here we go:

Infiltrate, states as long as one model in the unit has this rule a unit can infiltrate. Does this mean a IC with infiltrate converts this rule to a non-infiltrating unit. (this was of much debate in 6th and by the looks of things 7th hasn't change this)

Fortifications as now deployed with the rest of the army 'If a fortification is taken as part of an army, then it is set up
with the rest of the units in the army using the same deployment rules as the other models.'

Focus fire is gone.

Precise shot/strike are removed from characters (unless they come with it or can get it via wargear)

Vehicle Characters don't get 'look out sir' Shotting and Combat:
When a Wound is allocated to one of your non-vehicle characters, and there is another model
from the same unit within 6", he is allowed a Look Out, Sir attempt.

Warlord traits:
If your Warlord is removed as a casualty during your game, any abilities or special rules granted by his
Warlord Trait are immediately lost.

Well that's a few for now, feel free to add to things people may not be aware of or you want clarified for yourself :)

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Oh forgot to mention, Psychic power's can't be cast in vehicles unless there is a fire point and its a wychfire. So no buffing the squad/vehicle from inside.

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:06 pm
Posts: 202
Independent Characters can confer infiltrate to a unit but, if they do not have the rule they cannot join an infiltrating unit.

"An Independent Character without the infiltrate rule special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment" pg 658

The infiltrate rule itself doesn't mention independent characters at all, so rules as written an IC with infiltrate confers the rule to a non-infiltrating unit but an infiltrating unit does not confer infiltrate to a non -infiltrating IC.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:28 pm
Posts: 4183
Location: Bayswater, Perf
Doing shooting by weapon is the biggest change for me. Hits Wounds Saves Hits Wounds Saves now, not Hits Hits Wounds Wounds Saves Saves.

_________________
Son of Russ


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:57 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
Quote:
Independent Characters can confer infiltrate to a unit but, if they do not have the rule they cannot join an infiltrating unit.

"An Independent Character without the infiltrate rule special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment" pg 658

The infiltrate rule itself doesn't mention independent characters at all, so rules as written an IC with infiltrate confers the rule to a non-infiltrating unit but an infiltrating unit does not confer infiltrate to a non -infiltrating IC.
The problem is you never have permission to join a unit before deployment to confer the rule! Outflank with it is fine but RAW you can't infiltrate as you have no way to join the squad

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:06 pm
Posts: 202
Can anyone find a rule that prevents blasts hitting models on more than 1 level or has that been removed?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
That's been removed - you hit everything on every level under the blast

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:09 pm
Posts: 3159
Yea thats kinda kewl, you can still hide under a level from barrage though yes ?

_________________
"Surround yourself with the greatest warriors at your command, or cower in the deepest and darkest hole you can find. It matters not. I shall take your head for the Great Khan and for the Emperor."
-Kor'sarro Khan, White Scars 3rd Company.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 10:38 pm
Posts: 1283
Quote:
Quote:
Independent Characters can confer infiltrate to a unit but, if they do not have the rule they cannot join an infiltrating unit.

"An Independent Character without the infiltrate rule special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment" pg 658

The infiltrate rule itself doesn't mention independent characters at all, so rules as written an IC with infiltrate confers the rule to a non-infiltrating unit but an infiltrating unit does not confer infiltrate to a non -infiltrating IC.
The problem is you never have permission to join a unit before deployment to confer the rule! Outflank with it is fine but RAW you can't infiltrate as you have no way to join the squad
Never say never.

Look at space marine codex under captain shrike.

"Before deploying, he may only join squads of jump infantry"

Pretty sure that reads that characters are setup with units before even being deployed.

_________________
Book of grudges:

Olly
Roleplayer09
Wolflord

Revenge shall be mine!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:29 pm
Posts: 91
Quote:
Quote:
Independent Characters can confer infiltrate to a unit but, if they do not have the rule they cannot join an infiltrating unit.

"An Independent Character without the infiltrate rule special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment" pg 658

The infiltrate rule itself doesn't mention independent characters at all, so rules as written an IC with infiltrate confers the rule to a non-infiltrating unit but an infiltrating unit does not confer infiltrate to a non -infiltrating IC.
The problem is you never have permission to join a unit before deployment to confer the rule! Outflank with it is fine but RAW you can't infiltrate as you have no way to join the squad
"An Independent Character can begin the game already with a unit, by being deployed in unit coherency"

and then under infiltrate

"Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed"

would that not mean after you deploy your force you simply say " mr independent character is deploying with squad A during the infiltration phase of deployment "

at least thats how i read it :/

or is it being read as squad A is deployed and then mr independent character is deployed into the unit, making 2 deployment "moves"


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 615
Location: Bunbury W.A.
It seems to me that rules as written would mean that yhe character cant joun the squaf.

_________________
Phillip II of Macedon to Spartan envoy - 'If I ever enter Laconia, I will level Sparta to the ground'
Spartan response - 'If!'

Hangar 19: Southwest Gaming Club @ Unit 5/31 Denning Road, Bunbury.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 11768
Location: Perth
The rules pertaining to this argument (and interpretations of their wording) are the same as last edition.

GW could have resolved it. Didn't.

My interpretation is the same as last edition - which is that the characters can join & infiltrate. That's how I'll be playing it unless another TO rules it otherwise at an event I'm attending or a future FAQ / errata changes things.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:57 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
Quote:
Yea thats kinda kewl, you can still hide under a level from barrage though yes ?
Nope! Barrage hits all levels as well!

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 8364
Location: Perth
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Independent Characters can confer infiltrate to a unit but, if they do not have the rule they cannot join an infiltrating unit.

"An Independent Character without the infiltrate rule special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment" pg 658

The infiltrate rule itself doesn't mention independent characters at all, so rules as written an IC with infiltrate confers the rule to a non-infiltrating unit but an infiltrating unit does not confer infiltrate to a non -infiltrating IC.
The problem is you never have permission to join a unit before deployment to confer the rule! Outflank with it is fine but RAW you can't infiltrate as you have no way to join the squad
Never say never.

Look at space marine codex under captain shrike.

"Before deploying, he may only join squads of jump infantry"

Pretty sure that reads that characters are setup with units before even being deployed.
Shrike has a specific exception to the rules. The core rules don't allow it at present. Intention - sure! RAW? Not as far as I can see

_________________
OBJECTIVE SECURED The 40k Blog

Official Malifaux Henchman for Perth, Western Australia - Interested in a Demo? PM me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:23 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: Space, Above and Beyond
...what Luke said. But i will add that it's definately clear he can join the unit if they are held reserve to make a scout move 'by informing your opponent which unit he has joined'

Anyway we've all had this argument before with no consensus so no point going on about it again!

Rules I like: Heavy vehicles count as stationary when shooting. Ordnance no longer restricts the amount of weapons a vehicle can fire. Hello Russes!

Fast vehicles can now fire 2 weapons at full BS at cruising speed. It was only 1 in old rules if I remember correctly?
Edited - sorry I'm stupid :roll:

Can deploy in, and score from, buildings and fortifications. Makes sense. Why build a fortification to protect a valuable asset if you can't actually use it to hold that asset lol!

Sadly (for me) characters can't join MCs any more so no more O'Vesa Star :(

The weapon by weapon is very cool. Shoot your light weapons first - resolve wounds and remove all the human shields, then fire your melta gun into that skulking character >:)

I believe the rest of the rules you've mentioned Neil, are correct - no need for clarification as far as I can see?

_________________
Dice for the Dice God!


Last edited by tomkatt on Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 126 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next

All times are UTC+08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited