[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 580: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 636: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4511: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3257)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4511: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3257)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4511: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3257)
Upkeep Triggers and Resolving Creatures - WestGamer
It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:46 am

All times are UTC+08:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ]  [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:33 am
Posts: 4497
Location: Plato's Cave
Two Quick Questions.

This one I'm fairly confident with but wanted to check.
1) If I have multiple "at the beginning of my upkeep" triggers, I can choose which order they resolve in right? So if I have awakening zone and eldrazi monument I can resolve awakening zone first, and then sacrifice the fresh spawn when the monument triggers?

2) This situation came up the other day. Player A has a stalwart shieldbearer in play from a previous turn, he then casts a second. In response to the casting of the second, Player B lightning bolts the first. My question is, because the +0/+2 bonus is a static ability and doesn't use the stack, did the existing creature get the bonus straight away, or does the new creature have to resolve first? My understanding was that as long as a creature with a static ability is on the battlefield, the ability always works. My question is are you not "on the battlefield" until you resolve?

_________________
From Russia With Love


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:19 am
Posts: 8310
Location: Northern Crusades!
I'm not exactly sure, but:

1. I suspect you can select the order of your "at the beginning of your upkeep" abilities, as they both occur simultaneously

2. As far as I'm aware static abilities don't exist until the creature has resolved, i.e. opponent casts Iona, naming blue, yet you can still essence scatter it or etc in response. So opponent casts a second Stalwart Shield Bearer, you cast lightning bolt in response, thus lightning bolt resolves first and deals damage to the first Stalwart Shield Bearer, then the second Stalward Shield Bearer resolves and enters the battlefield, giving your remaining defenders the +0/+2

_________________
@NyxJBM


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 13105
Location: The Thornwood
Interesting question.

My first instinct is "yes you can order them however you want."

Then I was like.. hm.. sacrifice is a payment. Can you respond to payment?

I'm not helpful. =D

_________________
"The Dragon feeds on our wars. Every dead soldier is another weapon in the hands of our enemy. While we weaken, Cryx grows stronger."
- King Leto Raelthorne.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:19 am
Posts: 8310
Location: Northern Crusades!
Well it's not responding per say, both are abilities that are triggered at the beginning of your upkeep. It makes sense to me to think that you can stack them in whatever order you wish (as they occur simultaneously).
However, I'd say it's best to sit tight and wait for Jason/Infinious to get online and let us know :P

_________________
@NyxJBM


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 2:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:55 pm
Posts: 13105
Location: The Thornwood
I'm going to go ahead and say yes, you can create a token and sacrifice it in the same turn.

Come on Jason, prove me wrong.

_________________
"The Dragon feeds on our wars. Every dead soldier is another weapon in the hands of our enemy. While we weaken, Cryx grows stronger."
- King Leto Raelthorne.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:05 am
Posts: 243
1) It looks like everyone is on the money here. You can put the Eldrazi Monument trigger on the stack and then the Awakening Zone trigger on the stack and then resolve properly. None of these effects are payments of any costs of any kind.

2) You are correct in thinking that static abilities are assumed to be valid only when the source of the ability is on the battlefield unless stated otherwise. An example off the top of my head would be Split Second, which only makes sense while it is on the stack. It shows this by specifically stating that no one can play activated abilities or spells while a spell with split second is on the stack. If a creature with split second is already on the battlefield, the ability has no effect.

2a) Minor pedantic note: If I've cast Iona, Shield of Emeria and have already named Blue, it is a touch too late to counter Iona since it is an "As X enters the battlefield" ability, implying that it has already resolved.

Sorry for not answering earlier. Was busy at work/playing Cyanide BloodBowl.

_________________
Jason Doan
DCI Level 1 2 Judge


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:19 am
Posts: 8310
Location: Northern Crusades!
And so that's why it's polite to check with the opposing player to ensure it resolves before choosing the colour lol :P

_________________
@NyxJBM


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:33 am
Posts: 4497
Location: Plato's Cave
Okay awesome, so I don't have to sacrifice a creature without sickness to the monument.

Now all I need to do is get my hands on some Eldrazi Monuments :(

_________________
From Russia With Love


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ]  [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

All times are UTC+08:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited